Spells and the wonder of precision in chosen words, sounds, intention

The rhythms and sounds of language fascinate me. I am thoroughly engaged and held in wonder by the ability to articulate and communicate with others. Spells are mysterious and exciting to me. I think of spells having a rhythm- but I am not sure if this is true. I am not an expert or well-versed. In my mind, spells include an essence of a matter or matters very personal and or purposeful and engage with an energy or energies: the human cognitive realm taps into …somewhere using intention directly with specific elements and then there is a spell? I am not sure. The connotations I am familiar with the word: spell, makes me think of something ephemeral, can feel disorienting: ‘a dizzy spell’, can be captivating: ‘spellbound’.

Also, when I think of the word spell, I think of the directness in focusing intent as in “I want to spell out something specific in a fundamental way to be clear with myself and the realities outside of myself”. And then, there’s this realm of witchcraft- am I am curious about how the word spell is magic and alchemical, ‘unexplainable transmutation’…

I wonder if there are rules for spells? I wonder how different iterations of spell-making across time have utilized tenets or have been grounded in principles? Excited to learn more and exchange ideas!

9 Likes

What a thoughtful, poetic post, @Sunsetdancer! There are no explicit hard and fast “rules” for spells, but there are things that work versus things that work less well or don’t work at all.

One great way to think of spells is to think of them as intentions. You are speaking what you desire into existence. Manifesting your new desire / reality.

To do so, when you speak your incantation, you want to put your mind in the space where what you desire already exists. Because it does. (More on this on the Kybalion.)